subscribe: Posts | Comments

Google Photos Saves Space You’ve Already Backed Up

0 comments
Google Photos Saves Space You’ve Already Backed Up

Google Photos is a handy way to backup and organize images, and starting today, Android users are getting new features to help with the task. First, a “Free Up Space” option in the Settings menu will automatically delete photos stored on your mobile device that have already been backed up in the cloud. To make sure that you don’t delete any copies that you might need on your phone or tablet, you’ll have to confirm the action before it happens. You’ll also be able to nix any photos stored on your device’s SD card from inside the app so they won’t continue to be visible there. On the web, you can opt for the smaller “High quality” setting after photos have been uploaded in “Original quality.” Doing so not only saves space with smaller files, but those files won’t count against the storage cap like the full resolution images do. The new features are hitting the app today on Android devices, so you should see the changes soon.

Leave a Reply